Why does Canada have the birthright?

Countries that offer birthright

Birthright Citizenship, also known as jus soli The Latin word "right of the land" is the right to citizenship acquired for being born in a particular country, regardless of the nationality of one's parents. This rule of acquiring citizenship is common in America as compared to other parts of the world. A study shows that of the 194 countries that make up the world, only 30 countries grant citizenship unrestrictedly jus soli. Almost all European, African, Asian and Oceanic countries grant their citizenship according to the principle Jus Sanguinis, meaning "blood right," where children inherit citizenship from their parents but not their place of birth. The following countries allow the principle of jus soli.

Countries with birthright citizenship

United States

Citizenship in the United States comes from the 14th Amendment. Today it means that people born in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and also Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands receive citizenship at birth. Exceptions are the children of foreign diplomats and opponents of the war.

Antigua and Barbuda

Citizenship is granted to people born on the territory of Antigua and Barbuda. As of October 31, 1981, exceptions are children of foreign diplomats.


Under the 1977 Act, individuals born in or in Canadian airspace, in Canadian territory, or in airspace over Canada on or after February 15, 1977 are granted Canadian citizenship. Exceptions are children of foreign governments or employees of foreign governments in Canada.

Exceptions to the rule

There are often rules that determine who can be a citizen of a country at what time. Such a rule in practice is intended to regulate the use of Jus soli Lex solos. The common Lex solos In many countries this is used when a child is born to foreign parents who travel to other countries or who are diplomats from other countries.

Some countries also practice a restricted version of the rule of jus soli for children born only to certain immigrants. This aims to control immigrants and the population of a country. Most developing countries do not practice this rule for fear of terrorism and unwelcome vices that this person from foreign nations could bring into their country.

Countries where birthright citizenship is revoked

Some countries depart from applying this rule of jus soli lately. India and Malta abolished both jus soli. India abolished jus soli on December 3, 2004, because of the herd of illegal Bangladeshi immigrants who took advantage of the rule to gain citizenship.

Countries that offer birthright

rankCountries that offer birthright
1Antigua and Barbuda
12El Salvador
24St. Kitts and Nevis
25St. Lucia
26St. Vincent and the Grenadines
27Trinidad and Tobago
28United States

Author: Darrin Schmidt

Darrin Schmidt is a 41 year old journalist. Troublemaker. Wannabe gamer. General problem solver. Avid alcohol lover. Music fan.