How to Recover Lost iPhone Contacts

Accidentally deleted a calendar, bookmark, or contact from iCloud

You can visit iCloud.com and restore your missing calendars, bookmarks, or contacts from an older version.

When you restore an older version, the version you choose will replace any existing calendars, bookmarks, or contacts on all of your devices. Before you restore a previous version, iCloud backs up your current calendars, bookmarks, or contacts so that you can undo the restore if necessary. To do this, just repeat the restore steps and select the latest date to restore.

If you've made changes recently, some data may be lost.
You should make a backup before restoring.

Restore contacts or bookmarks from an older version

  1. Sign in to iCloud.com.
  2. Click on "Account Settings".
  3. Scroll all the way down the page. Under "Advanced" click on "Restore Contacts" or "Restore Bookmarks".
  4. Click "Restore" next to the date before the day you deleted your content.
  5. Click "Restore" again to confirm. When the restore is complete, you will receive a notification on iCloud.com and an email to the address associated with your Apple ID.

Restore calendar from an older version

If you restore calendars from an older version, this has the following consequences:

  • Your sharing settings will be deleted. You can re-share the calendars or ask the owner to re-share.
  • iCloud cancels and recreates any upcoming, scheduled events and then sends out the invitations for you.

How to restore missing calendars:

  1. Sign in to iCloud.com.
  2. Click on "Account Settings".
  3. Scroll all the way down the page. Under "Advanced" click on "Restore Calendar and Reminders".
  4. Click "Restore" next to the date before the day you deleted your calendars.
  5. Click "Restore" again to confirm. When the restore is complete, you will receive a notification on iCloud.com and an email to the address associated with your Apple ID.

Undo restore

To restore the calendars, reminders, bookmarks, or contacts that you had before the restore:

  1. Sign in to iCloud.com.
  2. Click on "Account Settings".
  3. Scroll all the way down the page. Under Advanced, click Restore Calendar, Restore Bookmarks, or Restore Contacts.
  4. Click "Restore" next to the date you performed the restore.
  5. Click "Restore" again to confirm. When the restore is complete, you will receive a notification on iCloud.com and an email to the address associated with your Apple ID.
Release date: