How many Pulitzer Prize Books are there

Pulitzer Prize: five questions and answers

On the evening the Böögg explodes in Zurich, the winners of the 100th Pulitzer Prize will be announced in New York. Five questions and answers about the world's most important journalism award.

The Pulitzer Awards are considered the ultimate in all awards for journalists. But writers and composers are also honored with it.

1. Who is behind the price?

The prize was donated by Joseph Pulitzer (1847–1911), a Hungarian-American newspaper publisher. As a young man, Pulitzer had emigrated from a small Hungarian town to the USA, initially kept afloat with odd jobs and finally worked his way up in the media industry. Among other things, he became the publisher of “New York World” and campaigned for investigative journalism. In his will, Pulitzer donated the journalism faculty at Columbia University in New York and the Pulitzer Awards.

The awards are presented annually by Columbia University on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Board of Directors. This consists of journalists, publishers and professors. The supervisory board nominates jurors for each category who nominate three entries. There are no fixed criteria for the selection. It is up to the jury and the supervisory board to decide what distinguishes an entry.

2. Which categories are awarded?

This year the prizes will be awarded in 21 categories - to newspapers, journalists, photographers, non-fiction and fiction authors, poets, composers and playwrights. If the jury does not like any of the applications in one of the categories, it will not award a prize. That happens not infrequently: for example, there was no winner in the fiction category in 2012 and none in the journalistic features category in 2014.

3. Who can win the prize?

Only American citizens are admitted - unless the applicant has written a book on US history or his articles have appeared in American media.

4. What is there to win?

Winners will receive a certificate and $ 10,000. The newspaper that receives the award in the most important category of “Merit to the Public” will receive a gold medal.

5. Who has already won the award?

Well-known newspapers such as the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal or the Washington Post (for example for exposing the Watergate scandal in 1973) often win in the most important categories - but not always: in 1995, for example, the Virgin Islands Daily News »honored, a newspaper published on the small Caribbean island of St. Thomas, which belongs to the USA, which had uncovered a corruption scandal there. Small regional newspapers from the USA have also received several awards.

Among the winners of the last 100 years is an American president: John F. Kennedy won the Pulitzer in 1957 for his book "Civil Courage". Different people have won not just one but several in their life. The record held by the poet Robert Frost, the playwright Eugene O'Neill and the photographer Carol Guzy, among others, is four.

The decisions of the jury and the board of directors of the Pulitzer Prizes were discussed controversially again and again. In 1963, for example, the jury proposed the play "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" by Edward Albee, now a classic. But the supervisory board rejected the text as not being “morally uplifting”. For similar reasons, in 1941 the Council did not award Ernest Hemingway a prize for the novel "For Whom the Hour Strikes". Twelve years later he got it for "The Old Man and the Sea" after all. Journalist Janet Cooke, however, caused what was probably the greatest scandal in the history of the Pulitzer Prize for her contribution to the Washington Post. She had to admit in 1981 that she made up the story about an eight-year-old heroin addict and give the award back.