Is rum kosher for Passover

Why isn't amaretto kosher for Passover?

I was recently told that amaretto is not kosher for Passover (since I never drink it I don't care, but it got me very curious as to the best of my knowledge there is nothing in its ingredients that would be chametz or kitnyot?)

Interestingly, amaretto was listed in some articles (e.g. Passover cocktails from WSJ).

But CRC's list does NOT have "Kosher for Passover" against Amaretto (but against other wines).

Is amaretto kosher for Passover and if not WHY concrete?

רבות מחשבות

I'm sure it depends on the type and manufacturer. The CRC list you have linked contains 2 kosher Passover amarettos (search for Amaretto on the page), but also gives a reason why amarettos need Passover certification:

Liqueurs are by definition flavored drinks and need to be certified. Sometimes a liquor is called an aperitif or liquor. Some examples of liqueurs are those called Alexander, Amaretto , Arak, Curacao, eggnog, gold water, grasshopper and sloe gin are well-known drinks.

A significant number of flavorings are chametz or kitniyos. You can find an OU article on flavorings here.

Kazi bácsi

I don't know the exact process, but there are many spirits made by mixing alcohol with flavors. Especially in Europe, this alcohol is made from grain, which is Chametz. The same reason applies to vinegar, as it is usually made from alcohol (except in wine-producing countries).


Yes, but what specific flavors in amaretto are chametz or kitniyos?

Kazi bácsi

@ DD1 [I suppose the bigger problem is the alcohol, not the aroma ...]


Some alcoholic beverages are aged in barrels to absorb the flavor of the wood desired. Many are aged in multiple types of casks, which is considered impure due to cross-contamination from one cask to another.

Kazi bácsi

It's a general kashrut problem, not a pesach problem ...

רבות מחשבות

@ Kazibácsi right. Also, Ephraim, if you gave sources, it would greatly increase the credibility of your answer.